Tea Time with Pecan Bars

I remember my first mouthful of pecan pie – just like it was yesterday when in fact, it was decades ago while I was still living in Texas. Although many more slices followed, that first encounter with buttery, nutty, gooey bliss remains etched in my senses. Pecan pie is the ultimate in Southern Hospitality: generous, warm, sweet & plenty of it, as exhibited by the many lovely people who fed my indulgence.

This variety of pie is unfortunately not commonplace in Singapore. Bake it myself, you might suggest; frankly, the thought of handling pie pastry in our humid weather deflates me.

So when I found this recipe in our favourite brownie & blondie book, I was thrilled to pieces. You can use walnuts, hazelnuts or any nut you wish. I have also reduced the amount of sugar & syrup asked for.

Sharing it with you because it is too good to keep all to myself.

Pecan Bars (adapted from Fat Witch Brownies by Patricia Helding)

CrustPecan3

  • 125g flour
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 60g light brown sugar
  • 100g butter, out of the fridge
  • 30g pecans, roughly chopped

Filling

  • 60g butter
  • 80g light brown sugar
  • 80g light corn syrup (I used honey)
  • 1 Tbsp rum (optional – I put a healthy tablespoon in)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 large egg
  • 200g pecans, left whole (or nut of your choice)

Preparing the Crust

  1. Grease or line a 9in x 9in baking pan. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.
  2. Combine the flour, baking powder, salt & brown sugar in a bowl.
  3. Cut the butter (just out of the fridge) into small cubes into the flour mixture.
  4. Rub the butter into the mixture.
  5. Stir the chopped pecans into the mixture and mix well.
  6. Spread the mixture into the prepared pan, using your fingertips to pat the crust down.
  7. Bake for 15 minutes until the crust is golden.
  8. Remove from the oven and set aside.

Preparing the Filling

  1. While the crust is baking, make the filling.
  2. Melt the butter. Set aside to cool.
  3. Combine brown sugar, syrup or honey, rum & salt. Mix well.
  4. Stir in the cooled butter and mix until just blended.
  5. Add the egg and mix well.

Putting it all together

  1. Pour the filling over the hot crust.
  2. Sprinkle the pecans on top.
  3. Bake for 20 minutes (at 180 degrees C) or until the top is brown and small cracks form on the surface.
  4. Remove from the oven and let it cool on a rack for at least 2 hours.
  5. Slice just before serving.

pecan

I am bringing this baked goodie to the Tea Party hosted by Su at zimmerbitch.com

24 Replies to “Tea Time with Pecan Bars”

      1. True-Year-end initial appeal doesn’t factor in the mineral content. Perhaps it struck me to think of that, as I was looking to increase my magnesium at one point, and I think adding more hazelnuts and pecans to my diet, has been helpful for that?

        Like

  1. Thank you so much for joining the tea party and bringing such a mouth-watering treat. I love pecan pie filling, but am not really crazy about pastry in general, so this is perfect.
    And I think your cup is absolutely fabulous 😍😍

    Like

        1. You are so funny, Su! I completely get what you are saying though: although I typically love pastry of all sorts, I have tasted a significant number which I probably should have just left off.

          I think I am lucky that my early pastry experiences were in the American South – mostly homebaked by skilled pie-makers.

          We are shaped by our early experiences ….

          Like

  2. Looks great! Today I’m drinking English Breakfast. Yesterday I found a single random bag of tea in my cupboard. It was SOOO good. I had to dig through the trash later to try to find the wrapper. No luck. 😦 Wish I could remember what it was so I could buy some. (I think my husband had brought it home from somewhere.) And must I remind you again? LENT! You’re killing me! 🙂

    Like

          1. Haha! I guess, when I die, if I get to ask just One All Important Question of our Mighty Creator of the Universe and All That Dwells Within, I know what it will be. 😉

            Like

Leave a comment