Scones & Lemon Curd for our Virtual Tea Party

I have been queueing this Fresh Apple Scone recipe for the making. I finally did; it is good. But I’ve decided that I like plain scones best.

While all this apple scone eating was happening, I thought a lemon curd would go well with it. And because I found an easy peasy microwave recipe from KingArthurFlour, I whipped up some. I couldn’t believe how simple & quick it was – no more stirring over the stove top. Too good not to share.

Easy Peasy Microwave Lemon Curd
  • freshly squeezed lemon juice from about 4 lemons (227g)
  • 140g sugar (original recipe called for 198g)
  • 113g butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  1. Combine all of the ingredients in a large microwave-safe bowl. To avoid bubble-overs, the contents should fill no more than 1/4 of the bowl.
  2. Microwave the ingredients in 1-minute increments, removing from the oven and stirring to combine after each minute.
  3. When curd starts to thicken, coats the back of a spoon and starts to mound a bit as you stir, it’s done. This will take anywhere from 4 to 10 minutes, depending on the strength/power of your microwave.
  4. Stir the curd one more time. If you see any small bits of cooked egg white, pass the curd through a fine-mesh strainer to remove them.
  5. Spoon the curd into a storage container and refrigerate until firm.
  6. Keep curd refrigerated for up to 3 weeks; freeze for longer storage.

Join us for tea hosted by Su at zimmerbitch, for lots of delicious conversation.

33 Replies to “Scones & Lemon Curd for our Virtual Tea Party”

  1. Thank you for sharing the recipe, the end product looks pretty good. Like you I love the stuff but am put off having to make it the usual way. Now thanks to you I can microwave it!

    Like

  2. Damn! I don’t have a microwave! 😂 And I’ve never made lemon curd myself but just bought it – but I bet it tastes much better homemade. Most things do, don’t they? Anyway, love your apple scone though admit that I usually bake the plain version too! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My problem with storebought sweeties is that they are typically too sweet for me – I cut down the sugar quite a bit for most of my baked goods. And i like replacing white sugar with brown as I like the sweetness profile better.

      Sometimes plain is best, especially if we want to eat it with other things, right?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! I was just thinking about trying to cut down on the sugar in my recipes – how much would you recommend at first: a quarter or so less? And I’ve also been thinking about going for brown sugar instead of refined. I’ve also been using maple syrup quite a lot but that can get expensive. LOL!

        Like

        1. Our usual amount to cut these days is 30% (ie. we use 70% of the recommended amount) – this seems to be ok, and doesn’t seem to affect the outcome other than sweetness.

          Also have the same thoughts as you about replacing brown sugar for white – we tend to like the profile of brown sugar over white in most things.

          We don’t use maple syrup (although I sometimes use agave when golden syrup is called for) – it is also expensive here in Singapore, so we save it for our pancakes!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Thank you, I will definitely try this out when I bake a cake tomorrow. I think 30% less sugar sounds good. Also am going to try baking with Coconut flower sugar which is supposed to taste a bit like caramel. 😀

            Like

Leave a comment