Illumination

“Fairy tales are more than true: not because they tell us that dragons exist, but because they tell us that dragons can be beaten.”  Neil Gaimon, Coraline

“You can never get a cup of tea large enough or a book long enough to suit me.”
C.S. Lewis

“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”  Charles W. Eliot

What is your favourite book(s)? Is there one which has changed your world?

Feature Photo taken in the British Library, London, January 2019.

This is my contribution to Friendly Friday Photo Challenge: Illumination hosted this week by Amanda at SomethingToPonderAbout.

9 Replies to “Illumination”

  1. Hey Ju-Lyn, I can relate to the quote. When I read a good book I never want it to end yet I rush to get there.
    I love great mysteries, mainly Nordic noir but I actually think one called Fishing in Utopia encouraged me to visit Scandinavia and astray my love affair with that region of the world. So perhaps you could call that life changing.

    Like

      1. Of course I meant start not astray. Auto correct sends up some strange word swaps and when it comes to replying on my smartphone, I do my best proof reading of text, after I have hit “send” ;(

        Like

  2. Great post. I love the illuminated books. Though I have to disagree with C.S. Lewis – I’ve plodded through a number of really bad and boring books, some I never even finished! 😉

    Like

  3. Ju-Lyn, all beautiful quotes and I particularly like the last one; books are always our friends, counsellors and teachers! I love your feature photo and bet you had an amazing time at the library – I would be awestruck and just stand round and gawp at all those books!

    Like

Leave a comment