Egg-citing Eggs-periences: Onsen Eggs

I love onsen eggs and when I saw this recipe in Savour (Cold Storage‘s free Food Magazine), I just had to try it.   Younger Daughter thinks of them as Japanese poached eggs, and I guess that’s pretty close.  I think the egg white is silkier and softer in the Japanese version though.

Onsen3.jpg

 

Feature photo shows the egg served immediately after cooking, with instant ramen & a variety of blanched vegetables (from Left to Right: broccolini, bean sprouts, cai xin).

Onsen2
This egg was refrigerated overnight, warmed slightly by the steamed zucchini.  Still very good.
Author: PurplePumpernickel

I am a stay-home Mom, still waiting to grow up.

4 thoughts on “Egg-citing Eggs-periences: Onsen Eggs”

Leave a Reply

