Simple Pleasures

There’s always something to do around the apartment: laundry, sweeping, reorganising the craft area, clearing out clutter.  Growing up in an immaculate home, I tried to follow suit in the early days of marriage.  Seriously, you could walk into our family apartment at any time without warning and do a photo shoot for a House & Home magazine.  My mother kept a beautiful home.

Unfortunately, I have not been able to do the same.  I am not as disciplined or focused or hardworking as she is.  Also, I live with 3 Pack Rats, and no matter what I do, little piles seem to build up.  It used to frustrate me, but I have become quite zen in the last couple of decades.

I often find myself distracted by funner prospects, like baking cupcakes with Younger Daughter, or singing with Older Daughter, or having a cup of tea & an almond croissant with Loving Husband.   Needless to say, I usually give in to these simple pleasures.

They don’t seem to mind the mess; I guess I shouldn’t either.

Feature Photo: a good match – almond croissant from Tiong Bahru Bakery, and tea served in my “Surprised!” china cup from The National Gallery, London (design based on my favourite painting  there by Henri Rousseau;  my holiday gift from Loving Husband)

Author: PurplePumpernickel

I am a stay-home Mom, still waiting to grow up.

8 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures”

  1. I think you are making the right choices for sure. Years ago, a friend told me, “You don’t have to clean house like your mother did,” a new idea to me and one that liberated me from the tyranny of making how the house looks a priority over the happiness of the people in the house. So, of course, I loved this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Janet! I’m actually amazed at how liberating it is to find out there are others who have chosen like I have. Especially when I occasionally do still get an anxiety over the piles that build up!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

