I am thankful for …

We take pause in this month of remembrance & this Thanksgiving weekend to once again give thanks, prompted by Cee’s Share Your World.

What are you grateful for with regard to:

  • Your home life?  I love my comfortable apartment: a little messy, a little run down, but all that we need.
  • Your family?  I am blessed with a Loving Husband who indulges my quirkiness, an Older Daughter who shares her exciting interests & piques mine, a Younger Daughter who unconditionally Loves & inspires me to do the same.    I love that my extended family (parents, aunt & uncle, sister, brother) who, despite being scattered all over the world, support &  send positive energy & hugs when I need it the most.
  • Your blogging community?  I am so tickled & chuffed that I am amongst a group of like-minded yet unique individuals who take the time to share their lives through their writing, inspiring & cheering in the process.  I am baffled that this community takes the time to read, respond & encourage my writing, and am roused to blog even on days when I think I have nothing much to say.
  • Your city/region/country in which you live?  I am combining my response to these 3 questions because Singapore is an extremely small city-state.  This year has been eye-opening as I’ve seen Singapore through Older Daughter’s eyes.  Although she struggles with the heat & humidity, and has spent this year working hard studying for the Cambridge A-Levels, we took time off together to go on study-break adventures around town: exploring & re-discovering places to eat, to walk, to people watch.  And as a result, I think I have fallen in love with a city which I’d taken for granted through the years.   I am thankful that we live in a country which is mostly safe, where I can go running at night without fear for my safety.  I am thankful that we have so many cuisines from which to pick when we feel like eating out.  I am grateful that we have lovely parks & gardens of respite even though space is at a premium.
  • You?  I love that I wake up each day with a smile (okay, maybe only in my head I am smiling) and that I laugh a lot through the day.

What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful that I found this Share Your World Challenge last week as I am having so much fun answering the questions, and reading & getting to know my WordPress Friends better as a result.

I am looking forward to having our annual Thanksgiving Dinner with my Culinary Friend & her Big-Hearted Family; we will feast mightily (it is a potluck with many exciting culinary creations to sample) & drink gustily & give thanks.

Feature Photo: I love the look & feel of squashes, especially this  lovely Kabocha squash!  And they taste wonderful too!

3 Replies to “I am thankful for …”

  1. How nice to take some time out with your daughter. It sounds like she needed a break from the hard studying. Isn’t is strange how one can live in a place, and sometimes overlook seeing even what the tourists come to see? There are so many places to see in just about any community, but often people go far away on vacations. Waking up each day with a smile, even if it is in our head, is a good thing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

