Bircher Muesli: a very quick brekkie

My first encounter with Bircher Muesli was at a hotel breakfast buffet: it was strangely more-ish.  Since then, I cannot resist having a bowl when I see it in the buffet line.

As much as I enjoyed it, I never thought of making it myself, until I saw it in Deliciously Ella: Every Day.  I couldn’t believe it was really that simple.  Till I tried it.  It is.

  • 1 apple
  • 45g rolled oats
  • 40g raisins (I used cranberries because I ran out of raisins)
  • 15g sunflower seeds
  • 1 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 125ml plant-based milk (I used almond milk)
  • 1 tsp maple syrup, date syrup or honey (optional – I omitted)
img_20160927_143258
Chopped (instead of grated) apples mixed with the other goodies.
  1. Grate the apple into a bowl (I chopped mine into small pieces).
  2. Add all the other ingredients & stir together.
  3. Place the mix in an airtight container and leave in the fridge for about 6 hours to allow the oats to soften & absorb the milk. You can continue to store in the fridge for up to 3 days.
  4. Restore to room temperature before serving.
  5. Top with fruit and nuts.

Note: if you want an extra creamy muesli, add 1 Tbsp of coconut yogurt or plain yogurt before serving.

This recipe is meant for 1 serving, but I ate it over 3 brekkies.  Maybe it stretched further because I added more fruit & nut on top of it.

birchir_muesli2
More fruit (frozen blueberries) & seeds (pumpkin) on top of the Bircher Muesli.

 

 

2 Replies to “Bircher Muesli: a very quick brekkie”

  1. I’ve been making something similar a lot lately – but I’m not organized enough to start it the night before. I just pop the oatmeal in the microwave (using dairy because all others are crazy expensive in Costa Rica) for one minute before adding the chia seeds. We also have something called chan seeds that have omega 6’s. I add ground flax seed too and let it sit for 10-15 minutes. I top it with some honey, sliced banana and papaya. Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Actually, I am not all that organised either. The muesli is a once in a blue moon treat! Most mornings, I do a quick porridge too, but with Quick Cooking Steel Cut oats, which I pop on the stove, while I’m collecting the rest of my fruit & ingredients.

      Thank you for sharing your brekkie idea. I wonder whether chan seeds are related to chia seeds?

      Like

Leave a Reply

