Songs to Remember

I went to a David Haas concert this past Friday without really knowing what to expect.  I knew very little about this songwriter but I went along for a ride anyway (read: Older Daughter wanted to go, and I was the Driver).

I was very chuffed to find out that I knew more songs than I’d thought – they are songs I sing in church but without knowing who wrote them.  The evening turned out to be part concert, part worship service; it was a rousing & heart-warming time of singing, praying & raucous laughter (turns out he is a skilled & humorous storyteller!).

The song from the evening that sticks is new to me .   He likely wrote it inspired by the story of doubting Thomas.  But he prefaced it at the concert to commemorate our loved ones who are no longer with us.

So, in this season of Thanksgiving & Remembrance, we give thanks & remember those who have gone on before us; Mama Rose (13 Nov 1934- 6 Nov 2013), this one’s for you!

Feature photo taken at the Christian Cemetery, Ipoh, where Mama Rose’s ashes have been placed (August 2016).

 

Leave a Reply

