Tofu: a great vegan frosting

I love frosting on a cake as much (if not more) as the cake itself.  In the quest to make great vegan goodies, frosting has been a challenge.   As I flipped through one of my staple cookbooks,  Benjamin Wong’s Cupcakes with Attitude, I found this recipe for tofu frosting.  

I’ve always viewed recipes for sweets using tofu with more than a little suspicion;  I imagined some lumpy and strong-soyed concoction. But I needed a vegan frosting for our Halloween baking, so was resolved to try this.  I was pleasantly chuffed to find find the frosting creamy, and only with a slight hint of soy.  We paired it with Pumpkin & Cranberry Cupcake (above in the Feature photo) & on another occasion, Sweet Potato & Cranberry Cupcake, both which were delicious combinations!

  • tofufrosting2200g of Soft tofu
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • up to 3 Tbsp icing sugar
  1. Pat tofu dry with paper towels.
  2. Break up tofu and place in a blender.
  3. Add lemon juice & vanilla extract.
  4. Blend for about  30 seconds, until creamy.
  5. Add icing sugar, 1 Tbsp at a time, tasting as you mix.  Adjust amount to taste.

 

 

4 Replies to “Tofu: a great vegan frosting”

  1. It sounds delicious and easy to make at the same time, both important to me. My husband’s birthday is coming up soon. I think I’ll try it on his cake and see if he notices… or maybe not. On second thought, I shouldn’t experiment on his birthday cake but on mine which is two weeks after his. Whew! I think I just made a good decision.

    Like

    1. Hope you are having a wonderful birthday month! And that your husband had a good celebration & enjoyed the cake you baked him.

      My husband also celebrated his birthday earlier this month, as did my sister & my favourite aunt. November seems to be a great Birthday month!

      Like

Leave a Reply

