Quinoa & Ginger Porridge

One of my favourite bedside books is Deliciously Ella: Every Day.  I flip through it often, drooling over the beautiful photos, and dreaming of which recipe I will make.

One of my favourite brekkies is steel-cut oats, cooked in water (not milk), then topped with all sorts of fruits & nuts.  A close second for a breakfast bowl is rolled oat porridge, also topped with fruit & nut.   I decided I would do something different and try quinoa as a base for my brekkie bowl.

quinoa2
Quinoa & Ginger Porridge

 

  • 60g quinoa
  • 150ml plant-based milk (I used just water, as I like my brekkie bowls less creamy)
  • 1 tbsp honey (I omitted)
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  1. Place the quinoa in a small pot or saucepan with 100ml of boiling water, the milk & honey (if using).
  2. Allow the mixture to come to a boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer for about 15 minutes, until the quinoa is fluffy and most of the liquid has been absorbed (but not completely dry).
  3. Slice the banana into the mix & stir in the ginger.
  4. Cook further for about 5 minutes.  Pour into a bowl to serve hot.
  5. Tweak it: try adding lots of nuts, seeds, fruit & dried fruit to make this bowl extra delicious! (I added frozen blueberries, fresh raspberries & pistachios)
quinoa3
Porridge topped with frozen blueberries, fresh raspberries & pistachio.

Verdict: It took a little paradigm shift to have quinoa in a sweet bowl, but it was surprisingly more-ish, especially with the banana & ginger.  A keeper!

 

3 Replies to “Quinoa & Ginger Porridge”

Leave a Reply

