Enjoying a cup of tea

One of the challenges of being a stay-home Mom is the temptation to justify why I have not returned to the workforce, especially when one’s children are already older teens; to resist the need to fill my day with cleaning the apartment, or cooking up fabulous meals, or dreaming up meaningful projects for Younger Daughter. 

I am particularly fortunate that Loving Husband is so supportive of my life-style.  When I toyed with returning to work a year or so ago and was getting extremely frustrated at the lack of meaningful things I could do, he suggested that it might be more trouble than it was worth.  Unless I had a strong need to return to work, I should just not worry about it.

And so, I continue to enjoy my days with my home-schooled daughters.  Older Daughter is in the midst of exam preparations and plans to head off to university next year, Younger Daughter continues to work through her current interests (paper doll fashions & baking/cooking new foods). To aid them in this,  I do what I can to make homelife as comfortable as possible, feed them as healthily as I can, and play & go on adventures with them & Loving Husband as much as energy and hours in the day allow.

On days like today, when I am waiting for Younger Daughter to finish her Kumon lesson, I choose not to run errands but to sit at Starbucks with a cup of hot tea, watch the world go by, check my emails, and reflect on how blessed I am to have the opportunity to enjoy the here and now.

8 Replies to “Enjoying a cup of tea”

  1. Sounds wonderful to me! 👌I would love to be a SAHM ☺️ If you feel like getting some new activities going, there’s a lot of volunteer work out there. Right now I work with volunteers who mentor mom’s and dad’s who feel lonely or need support in parenting. I have such an amazing group of volunteers who are really making a difference in people’s lives 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s wonderful that your husband is so supportive. Don’t underestimate how important these precious days are, when you can be home for your children and help create a positive atmosphere for them, as it can be a very stressful time to young people who are getting ready to go out into the world as young adults. Best wishes to you all.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. My point being that, people who take care of the home life are seen as “not working”. I fulfilled that role for more than five-years and it could be gruelling. It’s sad that it is so difficult for many, to be the ones providing at home. That the economy seems to demand that all be employed outside of the home environment. …. Good for you! Cheers Jamie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

