The Wonderful World of Stir-Fry

I love stir-fried vegetables: it is a simple, colourful way to cook up a variety of vegetables in one pan.

There are 2 ways I approach stir-fries:

Star Veggie

stirfry4
Kalettes stir-fried with garlic

When I go to the supermarket, I try to buy at least 1 veggie that is either new to me, or something I have not eaten for a long time.

This week, I found this gem at Fairprice: Kalettes, a cross between kale & Brussel Sprouts.   I simply had to try it, and although it can be eaten raw or cooked, I decided to try a simple stir-fry with olive-oil & garlic.  Quite rather delicious!  The leaves are smaller & softer than kale, and there is a nutty flavour reminiscent of sprouts.

Clearing the Fridge

I stir-fry at least once a week to clear out my veggie drawer.  The inspiration here comes from whatever I have in the most colourful combination possible.

Basics of Stir-fry:

  1. Heat a tablespoon of oil (I use olive oil or sunflower oil) in a wok or deep frying pan.
  2. Lightly fry diced/sliced garlic & onions, if using. Be careful not to burn.
  3. Start with vegetables which take longer to cook, eg. carrots, peppers, stems from broccoli/cauliflower. Fry for about 5 minutes, till they start to caramelise/brown.
  4. Put in vegetables like zucchini, Brussel sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower & broccoli.  Cook for about 5 minutes.
  5. Add a little water & cover to steam for a while.  Add your seasoning (I use soy sauce, or fish sauce, or ginger paste, or belachan, depending on the mood.  Sometimes, if it is quite a salty vegetable, like the kalette, I don’t add any seasoning apart from a grate of pepper at the end).
  6. Finish off quickly with leafy vegetables, bean sprouts, cooking till just wilted. Be careful not to overcook.

 

What are your favourite things to stir-fry?

Feature photo: Purple cabbage, yellow carrots & leafy green chye sim.

Author: PurplePumpernickel

I am a stay-home Mom, still waiting to grow up.

1 thought on “The Wonderful World of Stir-Fry”

Leave a Reply

