Murals in Ipoh

I adore outdoor art!

Some 10 years ago after visiting the Hakone Open Air Museum, I decided my favourite sort of art would be found outdoors. Don’t get me wrong, I would jump at the opportunity to revisit the National Gallery in London or the Musee d’Orsay in Paris, but there is just something about a sculpture garden, or a tromp l’oeil, or a mural.

When we visited Ipoh last week, one of the things we wanted to do was to seek out some of the murals that now grace the walls of Old Town buildings.  We had thought we might be systematic about it: pick up a map from the Tourist Information, follow some sort of plan.  But we decided to just go with the flow and find them as we explored & ate our way through town.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What is your favourite sort of art?

Feature photo of Older Daughter, Youthful Mother, Younger Daughter & I in front of Kafe Yoon Wah

5 Replies to “Murals in Ipoh”

      1. I know what you mean. I started taking my son to art galleries when he was really little, and always made sure he understood not to touch anything. We still got followed around by security, but eventually they realised that we weren’t going to do damage and that kids can enjoy art too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

