Running Hour: Run So Others Can

On Sunday, 10 July 2016, we gathered at Angsana Green, East Coast Park to celebrate running & those with special needs with Running Hour 2016.

Blind1
Drink Station at the 5km mark

It was a lovely setting for the run, with the sea on one side and lovely shade (for most of the way) provided by the beautiful trees.  We started at 7:30am so it was mostly cool & breezy.

Part of this charity event is for each of us to experience Blind Running. Loving Husband & I took turns being

runninghour5
Photo courtesy of Sotong@RunningShots

blind-folded & guiding each other.  Apart from obvious trust issues, depending on someone else to see for you, putting on that eye mask completely changed my sensory perception of my surroundings.  After the initial disorientation, I realized that I could hear so much more. I became aware of the many conversations happening around me.  I could even hear bicycles whirring as they approached us.

runninghour4.jpg
Photo courtesy of Sotong@RunningShots

After a while, I felt like I was in a safe cocoon, not having to worry about where I was going as Loving Husband competently guided me through the tension of the lanyard in our hands, and his verbal instructions.  Until we hit that first speed bump!  It was such a shock to the system and completely freaked me out!

So, as an experience to put us into a sight-impaired person’s shoes, it certainly was a success!  I take my hat off to to folks at Running Hour who do this on a weekly basis & guide those with visual & other disabilities safely on a run.  These folks really do run so others can! 

Blind2
At the finishing line, sporting our official Running Hour Tees

 

 

One Reply to “Running Hour: Run So Others Can”

Leave a Reply

