What do I see in the Colouring?

I have never been one to keep up with trends.  In fact, it seems like I habitually engage in  new things at the tailend of their popularity.

I first noticed Adult ColColoring1ouring books at the National Gallery in London in January 2015.  I thought it was the coolest thing as I have always been  a big fan of colouring.  We got them for a few friends whom we thought might enjoy them.

We have watched the bookstore shelves swell & wane with colouring books of all brands and designs.  It took me only a year to buy myself one.

This week’s photo challenge is Abstract, to take a look at something familiar from a different perspective (close-up or distance shot) so that we discover something new about it.

One of the reasons I enjoy colouring is the focus on the colours, strokes and the repetitive process.  I am not thinking of what the bigger picture is or worrying about whether the finished product will look a certain way.  It really is enjoying the moment with the pen/pencil and paper.

Often, Younger Daughter & I colour together.  Usually in companionable silence.  It has become our shared quiet activity.

Colouring5

 

4 Replies to “What do I see in the Colouring?”

  1. I’ve been away from my computer for awhile, and this was a good post to return to: clear, strong, descriptive writing about a topic new to me — adult coloring books — and a beautiful example of what can be done with them. I think I need to have a look at one. I especially like the idea of you and your daughter sharing the activity.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the kind feedback – it has made my morning!

      We bought colouring books with perforated pages which make them easy to tear out to colour, as opposed to colouring into the book. It’s a matter of preference but I really like having a flat surface to work with and not have to struggle with the book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

