Superfood #3: Dragonfruit

It’s Dragonfruit season!  and hence, I am a recipient of several of these beautiful fruit!

I am not a fan of the Dragonfruit … at least not before this recent encounter.  The fruit always seemed like a pale reflection of the kiwifruit.  I liked the texture of the flesh with the crunchy seeds, but found it mostly tasteless. It was not a fruit I would pick up at the fruit counter, or at a buffet.

The first fruit I received this season was a pink Dragonfruit.  I did some reading and discovered that this fruit which is a cactus, originated in South & Central America and is also called “pitaya”.  There are 3 versions of this fruit:  pink exterior with white inside (most commonly encountered), pink exterior with pink inside (commonly labelled as “red”), yellow exterior with white inside (never seen).

Dragonfruit2
Red dragonfruit & pumpkin seeds over steel cut oats.

A plethora of health goodies are connected with this fruit; some of my favourite are:

  • Omega 3 & 6 fatty acids in the seeds protect against cardiovascular disorders.
  • Calcium maintains muscle & nerve function.
  • Anti-inflammatory properties aids in pain relief;  mashed fruit can be used as topical application for sunburns & acne flare-ups.
  • Fibre boosts vitamin absorption, keeps your gut regular & helps you “feel full” for longer.

The challenge for me was how to combine this fruit with other ingredients to enhance its taste & texture.  By the end of this exercise, I found that I even liked scooping out the fruit and eating it on its own.   Perhaps I just never had good dragon fruit before.

How do you like to eat your Dragonfruit?

Resources:

 

4 Replies to “Superfood #3: Dragonfruit”

  1. I like the pink dragon fruit and I ate it the first time in Bali. It was delicious but I agree with you with the white dragon fruit it is tasteless for me too and will not choose it on the buffet counter 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

